** Archived Article - please check for current information. **

#06-314 November 20, 2006

Spartanburg businessman appointed to state Natural Resources Board

Norman F. Pulliam of Spartanburg has been appointed to the S.C. Natural Resources Board, the policy making body of the S.C. Department of Natural Resources.

In October, South Carolina Gov. Mark Sanford appointed Pulliam to fill the unexpired term of Karen K. Floyd. Pulliam will represent the state’s Fourth Congressional District on the Natural Resources Board.
“I am very honored that Governor Sanford asked me to serve on the Natural Resources Board,”Norman F. Pulliam Pulliam said. “This appointment affords me the opportunity to serve the Palmetto State by supporting the Department of Natural Resources, an agency with vast and diverse areas of responsibility. As an avid sportsman, I’ve had a life-long opportunity to enjoy the natural resources of our great state. I look forward to serving as a steward to protect and improve our wildlife, marine and natural resources for future generations.”

Pulliam holds a master’s in business administration (MBA) from Harvard University and graduated from Clemson University in 1964, where he received the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award as the Outstanding Senior.

Pulliam, a 39-year resident of Spartanburg, is chairman of Pulliam Investment Co. Inc, a diversified real estate development and investment firm. He is the founding chairman, chairman emeritus and director of First National Bank of the South, with offices in Spartanburg, Greenville, Columbia, Mount Pleasant, Daniel Island and Charleston.

Pulliam is currently on the board of directors for the S.C. Governor’s Cup Billfishing Series and for the last 15 years, has served as chairman of the board of the South Carolina School for the Deaf and Blind. He is the recipient of the Order of the Palmetto from the State of South Carolina and has served in a leadership capacity with numerous businesses, charities and non-profit organizations.

The Natural Resources Board meets monthly and sets policy for the S.C. Department of Natural Resources (DNR). The DNR is composed of five divisions: Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries, Marine Resources, Land and Water Resources and Conservation Districts, Law Enforcement and Outreach and Support Services.

Other members of the Natural Resources Board include Michael McShane of Johns Island, Michael Campbell of Columbia, Stephen Davis of Greenwood, John Evans of Orangeburg and Frank Murray of Chester.
More News