With the season well underway, the S.C. Department of Natural Resources would like to remind the public of proper rules for recreational shrimp baiters.
Recent cases have been made by law enforcement officers with the S.C. Department of Natural Resources (DNR) for violations to shrimp baiting regulations, which are set forth in the Marine Fisheries and Related Laws of South Carolina. DNR Law Enforcement Officers Gregg Brown, William Ladue and Greg Garner charged two individuals for shrimp baiting without a permit, a penalty that incurred a fine of $465 for each offender and forfeiture of the shrimp, baiting equipment and a night imprisonment. According to Brown, one of the individuals charged has a history of violating DNR regulations. The offenders have been convicted of a misdemeanor.
Shrimp baiting season remains open until noon, Wednesday, Nov. 13. Resident licenses cost $25, and non-resident licenses cost $500. The catch limit is 48 quarts of shrimp measured heads-on (29 quarts heads-off) per boat or set of poles per day, and each boat is limited to a set of 10 poles. The DNR asks that recreational shrimp baiters heed the following regulations before their nets hit the water over the course of the season:
A complete listing of the rules and regulations can be found in the South Carolina Code of Laws, Section 50-5-1100.
Anyone with specific questions regarding marine resources rules and regulations may contact:
Report violations of saltwater recreational and commercial fishing laws by calling the Coast Watch hotline number, 1-800-922-5431, toll-free, 24 hours a day.