** Archived Article - please check for current information. **

January 19, 2009

Drought Response Committee to meet Feb. 19 in Columbia

The S.C. Department of Natural Resources will convene the South Carolina Drought Response Committee at 10 a.m. Thursday, Feb. 19. The meeting will be held at the S.C. Forestry Commission's headquarters building located at Harbison State Forest at 5500 Broad River Road in Columbia.

The purpose of the drought meeting is to evaluate the drought status statewide. The committee will review climatic data, streamflow and lake level data, and drought impacts. Local response to the on-going drought will also be reviewed to determine if additional actions are needed to insure sustainable water supplies.

The S.C. Drought Response Committee last met on Oct. 28, 2008. Ten counties remain at severe and three remain at moderate status. Recent rains prompted the Drought Response Committee to remove the drought declaration for five counties: Beaufort, Chesterfield, Darlington, Hampton and Jasper. Eleven counties along the coast and Pee Dee region remained at no drought status.  However, dry conditions continue in the Upstate where nine counties remain in extreme drought.  The counties remaining in the extreme category are: Oconee, Pickens, Greenville, Spartanburg, Anderson, Abbeville, Laurens, Greenwood and McCormick.

For more information about drought, visit the Office of State Climatology or contact State Climatologist Hope Mizzell in Columbia at (803) 734-9568 or e-mail at mizzellh@dnr.sc.gov.

DNR protects and manages South Carolina’s natural resources by making wise and balanced decisions for the benefit of the state’s natural resources and its people.

More News