** Archived Article - please check for current information. **

April 6, 2009

Drought Response Committee meets April 15 in Columbia

The S.C. Department of Natural Resources will convene the South Carolina Drought Response Committee at 10 a.m. Wednesday, April 15. The meeting will be held at the Ramage Conference Center, 1001 Bluff Road, State Farmers Market in Columbia.

The purpose of the drought meeting is to evaluate the drought status statewide. The committee will review climatic data, streamflow and lake level data, and drought impacts. Local response to the on-going drought will also be reviewed to determine if additional actions are needed to insure sustainable water supplies.

For more information about drought, visit the Office of State Climatology or contact State Climatologist Dr. Hope Mizzell in Columbia at (803) 734-9568 or e-mail at mizzellh@dnr.sc.gov.

The S.C. Drought Response Committee last met on Feb. 19. Nine counties were maintained at the extreme level. Recent dry conditions prompted the Drought Response Committee to upgrade the drought declaration for 16 counties along the coast and Pee Dee region from no drought status to incipient: Chesterfield, Marlboro, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Marion, Horry, Williamsburg, Georgetown, Berkeley, Dorchester, Charleston, Colleton, Beaufort, Hampton and Jasper. Dry conditions continue in the Upstate where nine counties remain in extreme drought. The counties remaining in the extreme category are: Oconee, Pickens, Greenville, Spartanburg, Anderson, Abbeville, Laurens, Greenwood and McCormick.  Five counties in the Catawba -Wateree River Basin were downgraded to moderate status: York, Chester, Fairfield, Lancaster and Kershaw.

DNR protects and manages South Carolina’s natural resources by making wise and balanced decisions for the benefit of the state’s natural resources and its people.

More News