** Archived Article - please check for current information. **
June 11, 2012
2012-13 state hunting, fishing licenses now on sale
License Sales for 2012-2013 hunting and fishing licenses began on June 11, 2012. You can buy your South Carolina hunting and fishing licenses multiple ways. Licenses are available in person at any of the four regional S.C. Department of Natural Resources (DNR) offices or by visiting one of the over 500 license agents across the state. Licenses are also available 24 hours a day, seven days a week by calling 1-866-714-3611 or by visiting the DNR website.
Residents and nonresidents age 16 and older must purchase the required licenses to hunt and fish in South Carolina. Persons born after June 30, 1979, must have successfully completed a hunter education course to obtain a hunting license.
Apprentice Hunting License – Hunting license applicants who do not have a hunter education certification may use a onetime exemption and apply for an annual Apprentice Hunting License. The apprentice hunter must be accompanied by a SC licensed hunter who is not licensed as an apprentice hunter, is at least 21 years of age, has not been convicted of a hunting or hunter education violation or received deferred adjudication of the same, and stays within a distance that enables uninterrupted, unaided, visual and oral communication with the apprentice hunter and provides adequate direction to the apprentice.
Know Your Limits: Effective July 1, 2012, freshwater fishing laws are changing. These changes include creel, size and possession limits; definitions of water bodies and gear types; and nongame devices allowed by location. To learn detailed information about the changes, please visit www.dnr.sc.gov/fishregs/ or call your regional fisheries office. Region 1: (864)654-1671; Region 2: (843)661-4767; Region 3: (803)734-3886; Region 4: (843)953-5160; Chief, Freshwater Fisheries: (803)734-3808 or Assistant Chief, Freshwater Fisheries: (803)734-9094.
South Carolina hunters and anglers remain the state's top conservationists. Through your purchase of a state recreational hunting and fishing license, combined with excise tax collected on hunting and fishing gear, hunters and anglers contribute funding to South Carolina's wildlife and sportfish restoration projects. This includes wildlife management, habitat management, research and education. Without these dollars, fish and wildlife conservation projects would be very limited in South Carolina.
- State antler records remain at high level this year
- 2nd round results for 2012 Governor’s Cup Billfishing Series – Bohicket Marina Invitational Billfish Tournament
- Gov. Haley signs new sheepshead catch, size limits regulation
- Nesting chimney swifts are source of noise now heard in fireplaces
- Ceremonies mark the sesquicentennial of the 1862 Battle of Secessionville
- 2012-13 state hunting, fishing licenses now on sale
- Plant fields now for fall mourning dove hunts
- Much of South Carolina sees lowering of drought status
- Video - Drink. Drive. Die?
- New freshwater fishing regulations scheduled for July 1, 2012
- Growing-season burns a natural ecological process in South Carolina
- Youth Fishing Day set for Saturday, June 23 at renovated Lake Edwin Johnson in Spartanburg
- DNR continues to add fishing clinics around the state
- 2012 public alligator hunting, special WMA season applications now available online
- Artificial 'Reef-Ex' project 2012 dedication ceremony June 23
- Freshwater fishing trends
- Saltwater fishing trends
- S.C. weekly tidetable
- DNR video