
B O A T I N G

BOATING

All Boats
In South Carolina, vessels may not be oper-
ated in excess of idle speed within 50 feet of 
an anchored vessel, wharf, pier, dock, or a 
person in the water. Vessels may not operate 
in excess of idle speed within 100 yards of the 
Atlantic coastline (Sec. 50-21-870).

Equipment
Personal Flotation 
Devices (PFDs)
All boats must have a US Coast Guard ap-
proved wearable type PFD for each person 
on board or being towed. Each PFD must be 
in good condition, readily available and the 
proper size for the intended wearer. In addi-
tion, boats 16 feet in length or longer must 
carry a Type IV throwable device. In South 
Carolina, any person under twelve years of 
age must wear a US Coast Guard approved 
Type I, II, III, or V PFD when on board a class 
“A” (less than 16 ft. long) boat. 

Fire Extinguisher
One Coast Guard approved hand-held por-
table fire extinguisher must be aboard each 
boat less than 26 feet if the boat is carrying pas-
sengers for hire or if the construction permits 
the entrapment of flammable vapors or if it has 
a permanently installed gas tank, including 
gas tanks that use any type of fastener that 
would hamper the immediate removal of the 
tank from the boat. Additional extinguish-
ers are required in boats larger than 26 feet. 
Contact the SCDNR for complete regulations.

Navigation Lights
Navigation Lights must be on between official 
sunset and sunrise.

Flares
Flares are required for vessels in coastal wa-
ters.

Bells, Whistle
All boats less than 39.4 feet must carry an ef-
ficient sound producing device. Every vessel 
from 39.4 to 65.6 feet must carry a whistle 
and a bell.

Personal Watercraft
In South Carolina, each person on a personal 
watercraft must wear a US Coast Guard-ap-
proved Type I, II, III or V PFD. 

A personal watercraft may not be oper-
ated between sunset and sunrise and must be 
equipped with a self-circling or lanyard-type 
engine cutoff switch. 

When operating a personal watercraft, one 
may not operate in a manner so as to leave the 
water completely while crossing (jumping) the 
wake of another vessel within 200 feet of the 
vessel creating the wake.

Marine Events
A permit is required for any marine event 
with more than 20 boats. For permits or in-
formation on these and other marine events, 
contact Marine Law Enforcement, P.O. Box 
12559, Charleston, SC 29422, 843-953-9302.

Minimum Age 
of Operators
In South Carolina, boat operators under age 16 
must complete a boating course approved by 
the SCDNR to operate a boat or personal wa-
tercraft with a 15 h.p. motor or greater, unless 
accompanied by an adult age 18 years or older.

Reporting Boating 
Accidents
The operator of every vessel involved in a boat-
ing accident shall report to the SCDNR when-
ever the accident results in loss of life, loss of 
consciousness, medical treatment or disability 
in excess of 24 hours, or property damage. For 
more information, call 843-953-9302.

Restrictions
Airboats are prohibited on public waters of 
this state from the freshwater-saltwater di-
viding line seaward, and on that portion of 
Lake Marion and Santee Swamp west of the 
I-95 bridge upstream to the confluence of 
the Congaree and Wateree rivers during the 
season for hunting waterfowl.

Titling & Registration
Titling
The seller of a used watercraft or outboard 
motor in South Carolina must produce a South 
Carolina Certificate of Title in his/her name 
at the time of sale. Titles are valid until the 
watercraft or outboard motor is sold, traded 
or exchanged. A title with erasures, white out 
or information marked through is not valid. 
The owner must request a duplicate title. Titles 
are required for all sailboats, all outboard 
motors 5 horsepower and greater, and all 
other watercraft except: documented vessels, 
windsurfers, and those propelled by human 
power with oars, paddles or similar devices.

Registration
Watercraft propelled by any mechanized 
means must be registered in addition to be-
ing titled in the owner’s name.

Stolen Watercraft/
Outboard Motors
The owner of a watercraft or outboard mo-
tor which has been stolen should immedi-
ately contact local law enforcement to file a 
report, and then the SCDNR Marine Inves-
tigations at 803-734-3856 to receive a Theft 
Report form. Forms can also be found at 
www.dnr.sc.gov/boating in the Forms section. 

Mailing Address 
SCDNR Watercraft Section, P.O. Box 167, 
Columbia, SC 29202-0167, or call 803-734-3857 
M–F 8:30 AM–4:45 PM 

For more information on boating, please 
refer to our Boating Handbook, visit 
www.dnr.sc.gov/education/boated.html or call 
1-800-277-4301.

VESSEL SEWAGE 
REGULATIONS
It is Illegal: 
•	 To have a toilet installed aboard your boat 

without a marine sanitation device. 
•	 For any boat used for habitation moored at 

a private dock to discharge raw or treated 
sewage. 

•	 For houseboats to discharge treated or raw 
sewage in freshwater. 

•	 For any vessel to discharge treated or 
untreated sewage in a No Discharge Zone.

Designated No Discharge Zones

•	 Broad Creek  
(Hilton Head Island)

•	 Lake Hartwell
•	 Lake Keowee

•	 Lake Murray
•	 Lake Thurmond
•	 Lake Wylie 

What Can You Do?
To prevent the possible dangers that sewage can 
cause to humans and the environment, boaters 
should: use portable toilets, utilize onshore or 
floating restrooms, and have a Marine Sanitation 
Device installed on board and use a pumpout at 
a local marina. 

For more information 
about vessel sewage 
regulations, contact SC-
CVA@dnr.sc.gov, or visit 
www.dnr.sc.gov/cleanvessel.

PERSONAL 
PROPERTY 
TAXES
The bill of sale or title to any watercraft or 
outboard motor requires certification that 
personal property taxes have been paid by the 
named owner as of the date of sale. Selling a 
watercraft or outboard motor with taxes due 
is a violation of the law. An owner must notify 
the SCDNR Watercraft Section within 30 days 
of selling a watercraft or outboard motor. 
Remember, personal property tax assessments 
issued during 2018 are based on the owner of 
record as of Dec. 31, 2017. Check the status 
of watercraft and outboard motor titles at 
www.dnr.sc.gov/boating and select “SC Boat 
Facts” before you buy.

www.dnr.sc.gov/boating
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