MINUTES HERITAGE TRUST ADVISORY BOARD AUGUST 4, 2000 HICKORY KNOB STATE PARK

Members Present

Terry Ferguson (Chair)

John Tucker Julia Krebs

Jon Leader (for Bruce Rippeteau)

Rodger Stroup

Darryl Jones (for Hugh Ryan)

Charles Bradford

Bonnie Ammons (for Charles Way)

Freddy Vang Paul Sandifer

Charles Harrison (for Buddy Jennings)

Fritz Hamer (for Tony Ganong)

Malloy McEachin John Frierson Richard Porcher

Others Present

Tom Kohlsaat

Dick Houk

Breck Carmichael

Whit Gibbons

Gil Newberry

Mark Hall

Bert Pittman

Steve Bennett

Jamie Dozier

Johnny Stowe

Stuart Greeter Ken Prosser

Chris Judge

Kathy Boyle

Mike Foley

Terry Ferguson called the meeting to order and called the roll. He introduced Darryl Jones, who will represent the Forestry Commission at this meeting in Joel Felder's absence.

Approval of May 4 Minutes

A motion was made and seconded to approve the Minutes of the May 4, 2000, HTAB meeting. The motion was approved.

Comments from the Director

Dr. Sandifer had no comments to report.

Natural Areas Committee

- 1. Great Pee Dee and Long Branch Bay Heritage Preserve (HP) Management Plans: Johnny Stowe described the plans and Freddy Vang stated that the Committee as a motion recommends approval. The motion was approved.
- 2. Species Listing Process: Mr. Vang said the Committee discussed this topic and he recommended that staff provide information about the process to all HTAB members.

3. Craig Pond Conservation Easement: Mr. Vang reported that the Committee endorsed a plan to amend the easement to allow for longleaf pine restoration. He added that a final version of the revised document will be brought to HTAB for approval at a future date.

Cultural Areas Committee

1. Coosaw Island Shell Ring: Chris Judge described the area and proposed adding 10 acres to the original 14 acres approved for purchase at the last meeting. Dr. Stroup said the committee as a motion recommends acquisition of the property. The motion was approved.

Budget Committee

HTAB entered Executive Session to discuss budget issues. They returned to regular session and voted to approve the Heritage Land Trust Fund (HLTF) budget. Addendums to the budget included additions to Pee Dee Island Bays and Coosaw Island Shell Ring. Also, the HLTF preserve management budget was approved. Reports were given on Childsbury, Altmaha Town and Morris Island.

Other Business

- 1. Aiken Gopher Tortoise Study: Whit Gibbons gave a presentation on gopher tortoises and restoration work at the Aiken Gopher Tortoise Heritage Preserve.
- 2. Division Report: Breck Carmichael reported on the structure and needs of the Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries Division.
- 3. Stewardship: Johnny Stowe, Jamie Dozier and Chris Judge updated members on stewardship activities.
- 4. Strategic Plan/DNR Habitat Initiative: Tom Kohlsaat briefly discussed these items and Dr. Ferguson stated that partnering with groups such as local land trusts should be a priority when formulating protection initiatives. Dr. Ferguson appointed a committee consisting of John Frierson, Julia Krebbs, Rodger Stroup, Stuart Greeter and Chris Judge to examine how to approach these groups and establish common goals.
- 5. Heritage Trust 25th Anniversary: In honor of this event, Stuart Greeter informed members that the January-February edition of SC Wildlife Magazine will be devoted to the Heritage Trust Program. He also suggested promoting the anniversary at annual events held at Great Pee Dee HP and Fort Lamar and at an upcoming celebration at Forty Acre Rock HP. Mr. Greeter asked that members inform him of additional ideas and also asked for their assistance in promoting preserves that are located near them.
- 6. CARA Update: Mr. Kohlsaat stated that the Conservation and Reinvestment Act was recently approved by the US House of Representatives and will go before the Senate in

September.

- 7. Committee Appointments: Dr. Ferguson recommended Charles Bradford be placed on the Natural Areas Committee and David Jones be placed on the Cultural Areas Committee. A motion was made and seconded to approve these appointments. The motion was approved.
- 8. Election of HTAB Vice-Chair: Dr. Stroup reported that the Nominating Committee recommends Julia Krebbs for the position of Vice-Chair. A motion was made and seconded to elect Ms. Krebbs. The motion was approved.
- 9. Nominating Committee for HTAB Chair: Due to the expiration of the current Chair's term at the end of the year, Dr. Ferguson appointed a committee consisting of Freddy Vang, Rodger Stroup and Charles Bradford to recommend a new HTAB Chair at the next meeting.

Dr. Ferguson reminded members that the next HTAB meeting will be November 3 and the Forty Acre Rock HP commemoration will be November 4.

Adjourn.