SCDNR License Plate Series
Show your support of wildlife and conservation in South Carolina and help provide vital funding to conserve our wildlife and aquatic resources.
What is the SCDNR License Plate Series?
The SCDNR License Plate Series are specialty plates that are available to the general public. Each plate portrays the importance of natural resources in our state from saltwater recreational fishing and hunting opportunities to conservation of endangered and threatened species. The SCDNR license plates feature some of South Carolina's most significant fish and wildlife species including red drum (also called redfish or spot tail bass), white-tailed deer, the colorful painted bunting and loggerhead sea turtles.
Who needs a SCDNR License Plate?
The plates are great for anyone that appreciates South Carolina's natural resources. There is a plate to satisfy anyone who hopes to keep "Life Better Outdoors" including fishermen, hunters, wildlife watchers, boaters and conservationists.
What Plates are available?
SCDNR currently offers four license plates. This includes the Gone Fishing Plate (red drum), Endangered Species Plate (loggerhead sea turtle) and two Wildlife Series plates (painted bunting and white-tailed deer plate).
Where does the money go from the sale of these plates?
Revenue from the sale of the license plates is used by SCDNR for fish and wildlife management and conservation programs as authorized by SC law.
How do I order my License Plate?
Mail the completed application (Microsoft Word file) and required fees to SC Division of Motor Vehicles, PO Box 1498, Blythewood, SC 29216-0008, visit any DMV office, call 803-737-4000 or visit www.scdmvonline.com.
The form above is in the Microsoft® Word® format. Microsoft® Word® Viewer is required to open the file and is available as a free download from the Microsoft® Web site.
How much do they cost?
The cost for each plate varies as determined by authorizing legislation.
|Type of Plate||Fee|
|Endangered Species||The initial fee for this plate is $30.00 plus the registration fee. Renewal fees are $30.00 plus the registration fee.|
|Gone Fishing||The fee for this plate is $75.00 plus the regular vehicle registration fee. Renewal fees are $75.00 plus the registration fee.|
|The fee for these plates is $30.00 plus the regular vehicle registration fee. Renewal fees are $30.00 plus the registration fee.|
Call SCDNR Marine Resources Division at (843) 953-9300 with more questions on the Gone Fishing Plate. For questions on the Wildlife Series or Endangered Species plates, call SCDNR Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries Division at (803) 734-0256.