Soil and Water Conservation Districts

Sumter Conservation District

1975 Castlerock Drive
Sumter, SC 29153
Phone: (803) 905-7650, ext 3


The Sumter Conservation District meets every third Thursday of the month, starting at 9:00 am, at the District Office in Sumter. For more information, please call (803) 905-7650.

Commissioners and Staff
Name Position Expiration of Term
John T. Rivers III Chairman 01/04/26 (A)
Vacant Commissioner 01/31/25 (E)
Tommy Laney Commissioner 01/31/27 (E)
Rowland Alston Commissioner 01/03/25 (A)
John L. Newman Commissioner 01/31/27 (E)
Anna Makiewicz District Employee  

(A) stands for Appointed.
(E) stand for Elected.

Sumter Soil and Water Conservation District 2023 Annual Report